|Price per person||1 person||2 persons||3 persons||4-8 persons|
|€ 70.00||€ 45.00||€40.00||€ 35.00|
The three hour walking tour starts in IC Bratianu Avenue, (Intercontinental Hotel area), near Coltea Hospital, the oldest hospital in town, dating back to 1704. The next stop is Lipscani Street, the most famous commercial street of the old city. At the beginning of the 15th century, most of the merchants and craftsmen (Romanians, Greeks, Bulgarians, Armenians and Jews) established their stores and shops on this street. The name Lipscani is related to the famous German trade held on Lipsca or Leipzig, where the merchants from Romania went at least twice a year. The French Street, where The Old Princely Court is located, was Bucharest’s first fully paved street in 1860. The Old Princely Court and Church were built during the reign of Prince Vlad Tepes, whose cruel manner of punishing his enemies got him the nickname Tepes – “The Impaler”. Centuries later, the Romanian Prince and his nickname became famous when Bram Stocker’s novel “Dracula” became a bestseller.
Close to the Old Princely Court there is the oldest church in town, St. Anthony Church. Other sites worth visiting in this area are Manuc’s Inn (1808), Selari and Smardan streets, Stavropoleos Church (1724) and Caru cu Bere (beer pub and restaurant dating back to 1879), St. Nicholas church (hosts an icon with healing powers), The National History Museum, the National Savings Bank, Capsa Restaurant, Cismigiu Garden , The Revolution Square and the Italian Church (1916).
Included services: certified national guide, entrance fees to The Old Court Palace and The National History Museum.
Photo tax not included.
Tracing back the Count Dracula heritage
In the heart of the historical centre of Bucharest are the remains of The Old Princely Court. According to historic documents, it was built in the XVth century by Vlad Tepes, better known as count Dracula. Vlad Tepes fortified the settlement which flourished as a commercial burg. The legends say that Vlad kept his prisoners in dungeons built under the Princely Court and its surroundings.
Along the centuries, Vlad Tepes’s fortress was rebuilt and reshaped by several Romanian princes. As if under a curse, the court was severely damaged by natural catastrophes – earthquakes and fires -, the palace was auctioned off to local merchants at the end of the XVIIIth century. All we can see today are a few walls, arches, tombstones and a Corinthian column.
In 1972, when archaeological digs revealed the remains of the fortress, it was established as the Old Court Museum. Here they also discovered the oldest document attesting the city’s origin under the name of Bucharest. The document was issued and signed by Prince Vlad Tepes on 20th of September 1459. Close by, visitors can see the Old Court Church dating back to 1559 and considered the oldest in Bucharest. The church served for two centuries as a coronation church for Romanian princes. Some of the original XVIth century frescoes have been preserved.